Winter in Berlin Mixtape

Hallo zusammen! After a relaxing winter break, I’m back at Whitman and preparing to fire up the show again. We’ll be returning to the same time slot—Sunday nights from 11 p.m. to midnight, Pacific time!

I had a lovely Silvester celebration with friends from my year in Berlin—we reunited in Chicago for a few days of partying like old times. Along with a basket of German Laugenbrezeln (soft pretzels), I brought some mix CDs to share. Definitely check out some of these songs if you’re in the mood for beautiful, subdued and introspective music! For the best listening experience, curl up with a hot beverage near a window on a wintry day.


1. Philipp Poisel “All die Jahre”

2. Andreas Bourani “Eisberg”

3. Johannes Oerding “Morgen”

4. Thees Uhlmann “Die Toten auf dem Rücksitz”

5. Dota und die Stadtpiraten “Alles du, alles dur”

6. Gary Go “Berlin”

7. Johannes Strate “Wenn es um uns brennt”

8. Annett Louisan “Ende Dezember”

9. Philipp Poisel “Wie soll ein Mensch das ertragen”

10. Annett Louisan “Wenn man sich nicht mehr liebt”

11. Tim Bendzko “Wenn Worte meine Sprache wären”

12. Fertig, Los! “Der Moment”

13. PeterLicht “Gerader Weg”

14. Dota und die Stadtpiraten “Früh am Morgen, örtlich Regen”

15. Thees Uhlmann “17 Worte”

16. Ja, Panik “Nevermind”

17. Maike Rosa Vogel “So hab ich dich bei mir”

18. Dota und die Stadtpiraten “Im Rauschen der Welt”

19. Der Polar “Ich bin bei dir”

20. Dorfdisko “Kurz vor Malmø”

One of these tunes, “Berlin” by Gary Go, has never been featured on the show, since Gary Go is an English artist—but what a gem of a song! I discovered it in the soundtrack to “Männerherzen,” a truly heartwarming and hilarious German film. “… it’s all so quiet, in Berlin…” Absolutely gorgeous track.

Another track off this mix, “Der Moment” by Fertig, Los! has been stuck in my head since I first listened to its preview clip on iTunes back in December. One of those songs that strikes instantly to the heart. “… ich hab vergessen, wie du aussiehst, wenn du schläfst…” Heartrendingly beautiful. The rest of this band’s stuff is pretty good too! Their album, Pläne für die Zukunft, is available on US and German iTunes.

Super stoked to return to the airwaves this Sunday!!

Liebe Grüße


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: